Answering Those who Disagree With me

Friends,

I have been engaging in some very heated discussions with some folks who have visited here recently. It should be quite obvious that I don’t agree with anything that the atheists have to say, and very little of what the evolutionists have to say, and when the reader is both an atheist and and evolutionist, I laugh myself silly. It should be noted that they appeared here and replied to my posts of their own volition. I didn’t invite the atheists and evolutionists and liberals here. They came and, at times, provoked me with their insults, condescension, and arrogance. I responded in kind, but now, I am conscience-stricken and need to clear the air.

I have erred a bit, or a great deal, by not remembering the very Gospel that I preach. Granted, it’s my blog and I can say what I want to whom I want however I want, but I realize that ‘one catches more flies with honey than vinegar’ and that my approach of ‘argue with them until their anger and ignorance is evident to everyone’ hasn’t worked well. But I digress.

The Gospel says, “But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clean conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander. It is better, if it is God’s will, to suffer for doing good than doing evil. For Christ died for sins, once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God. He was put to death in the body but made alive by the Spirit….” (1 Peter 3:15-18, NIV).

I have realized over the last couple of days that I have not been nice or respectful to certain people who have visited here. I sincerely hoped to engage in meaningful conversation and debate, but sometimes I got a wee bit over-zealous in my efforts to combat ignorance and unbelief. In a sense, I forgot that Christ is Lord, that that I don’t have to fear what they fear (1 Peter 3:14). He is my Fortress and Stronghold, not my own wit or wisdom. I can’t rely on myself the way atheists and evolutionists do. So, I am sincerely sorry for mistreating them.

I’m taking this space to make a public apology to certain friends who have come here and have been mistreated by my words. I assure you that I am not a hater, but that I do get a bit worked up when it comes to the Gospel. I’m not sorry for the things that I have said (except where I have resorted to insulting someone’s intelligence, the very thing that others have done to me that I despise), but sincerely for the way I have said them.

The Gospel deserves a better advocate that what I have been lately. I am also sorry to my other readers who may have been put-off by my tone. I’ll do better from now on.

jerry

  1. Awwwwwwwwwwwww…..
    HOW SWEET!
    TRULY A SINCERE APOLOGY!
    HOW REFRESHING TO SEE THIS!
    WHAT A HEART YOU HAVE,
    & THAT GOD HAS GIVEN YOU TOO!

    BLESS YOU!

    ~swansongsinging~

    http://swansongsinging.wordpress.com/




Leave a Reply

