Kathy Griffen & Jesus

Friends,

I have blogged before about Kathy Griffen, and I’m hesitant to do it again, but I’ll take the risk. Evidently, she has recently won an Emmyfor her work on the Bravo show ‘My Life on the D-List.’ If the show is any indication of why she’s on the D-List then it all makes perfectly logical sense. Well, as anyone on the D-list would do, Griffen did what she had to do to generate some publicity when she gave her speech:

In her speech, Griffin said that “a lot of people come up here and thank Jesus for this award. I want you to know that no one had less to do with this award than Jesus.” She went on to hold up her Emmy, make an off-color remark about Christ and proclaim, “This award is my god now!”

Now, the reason I’m blogging about this is not because I care what Kathy Griffen says, but because I’m concerned about the response to what she said. Here’s one response:

The comedian’s remarks were condemned Monday by Catholic League President Bill Donohue, who called them a “vulgar, in-your-face brand of hate speech.”

And?

Seriously, why should anyone be surprised? Was Mr. Donohue watching the Emmy’s? I’m not certain why he would be offended; I’m not certain why any Christian would be offended: This is what people who are not-Christians do (especially not-Christians on the D-list who are trying to drum up publicity). Oh, Mr. Donohue fell right into her trap!

So now, Ms. Griffen is evidently going to be censored when her speech is replayed on another channel. Why? What will that accomplish? Doesn’t everyone already know what she said? And who is it going to offend: All the Christians who will tune in to watch it so that the next day they can say, “Woe is us! Kathy Griffen doesn’t like Jesus and worships a small statue as her god!” Seriously. Get over it. Kathy Griffen hasn’t said anything that a good atheist or Muslim or Hindu hasn’t said.

I say that this censorship is absurd and Mr Donohue is wrong for making this such a big deal. I’m a Christian, I don’t watch any of Ms. Griffen’s shows (and couldn’t care less about the Emmy’s; I haven’t watched one for 37 years and I’m not going to start just because they censor someone’s language), but I still don’t expect anyone who is not of Christ to have any sort of respect for Christ or his church. Why would they? If people had ignored it, it would have all gone away. Here again we see the problem with modern Christians. Some think that they ought to be, or have a right to be, treated differently than those Christians who have gone before us. Jesus said, “Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you, and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you” (Matthew 5:11-12, NIV).

Truth is, she’s right: I can’t imagine for a minute that Jesus had anything to do with helping her show win an award. People really need to lighten up a bit.

jerry

PS–One final thought. If she’s right and ‘others went up and thanked Jesus’ for their awards, I wondered what’s worse: People who have no concern whatsoever for Jesus Christ pretending they care by thanking him (as if Jesus gives a rip about who does and does not win Emmy’s) for awards they won for stupid television. Or, Kathy Griffen being honest about the fact that she neither cares about Jesus nor plans to fake thank Him? Personally, as sad as I am for her lack of love for Christ, I do respect her honesty. At least she’s not afraid to come out of the Atheist closet. Mr Dawkins would be proud to claim her as one of his own.

    Leave a Reply

