*Kathy Griffen Update*

Friends,

I have some updated content concerning that Kathy Griffen remark. First, Ms. Griffen’s remarks (they may be offensive to some of you):

“I guess hell froze over,” Griffin announced. “A lot of people come up here and thank Jesus for this. He had nothing to do with this. … Suck it, Jesus! This award is my god now.”

Well, yes, I should say that is rather vulgar–but frankly, it is not out of character for Griffen who verbally everyone this way. Mr Donhue, of the Catholic League, said:

 “The Academy … reacted responsibly to our criticism of Kathy Griffin’s verbal assault on 85 percent of the U.S. population,” he said. “The ball is now in Griffin’s court. The self-described ‘complete militant atheist’ needs to make a swift and unequivocal apology to Christians. If she does, she will get this issue behind her. If she does not, she will be remembered as a foul-mouthed bigot for the rest of her life.”

He continued: “Mel Gibson. Michael Richards. Isaiah Washington. Imus. Jerry Lewis. Every time a celebrity offends a segment of the population, he pays a price, in one way or another. The question now is whether Kathy Griffin will pay a similar price for her outburst. And as we have learned, her verbal assault was calculated.”

Here’s the problem: I have never thought of Kathy Griffen as anything but a foul-mouthed bigot. An apology, which will be nothing more than her attempt to ‘get this issue behind her’ and not a genuine change of heart, will be meaningless. The fact is, she offends everyone because she mocks everyone: That’s what comics do.

I am one Christian who will say it: I Don’t Want Kathy Griffen’s apology. She didn’t offend me, she didn’t hurt me, she isn’t going to change what I believe, and like I said yesterday, and apology is not likely to make me watch the Emmy’s or her show.

I just don’t understand why someone thinks that Christians in America should be treated any differently than Christians in other parts of the world. Maybe we should call on the Muslims of the world to apologize for all the Christians they force to convert to Islam, all the Christians they outright kill, and all the offensive things they say about Christians.

People need to get over it. The very fact that Kathy Griffen brags about her  D-List standing should tell us all we need to know about her, her remarks, and what she hopes to gain by making the remarks. I for one refuse to be moved by what she said and by what others hopes she says. I hope she doesn’t apologize because if she does apologize I will certainly lose respect her even less than I do now.

jerry

PS–At least, ironic as it is, she acknowledges that Jesus is a real person. Funny that someone described as a ‘complete militant atheist’ said something to someone she implicitly denies even existed. That’s ironic.

    Leave a Reply

