Some Helpful Global Warming Stuff

Friends,

Here are a few stories that I found interesting. You might find them interesting too!

First, according to new research, Neanderthals weren’t wiped out because of a dramatic climate change.

A study published in the Sept. 13 issue of the journal Nature suggests abrupt global cooling was not the final calamity that wiped out Neanderthals.

The study does not, however, offer any direct clues about what did finally kill off the Neanderthals. (Climate)

I think this is encouraging because if cold weather didn’t kill Neanderthals, then perhaps we moderns will be able to survive the impending heat waves of bagan-hotel-weather-rock.jpgGlobal Warming. Humans (or any variations of humans) are remarkably adept at surviving calamities that other beasts cannot survive.

Then there’s this: (Climate Cuts)

WASHINGTON —  The government’s climate change research is threatened by spending cuts that will reduce scientists’ observations from space and on the ground, a study says.

A major problem, the National Research Council said Thursday, is the program director’s lack of authority to organize spending and research among the 13 different agencies that study the impacts of climate.

Looks like it’s tough luck for the polar bears. *Sniff*

And here’s the most important new of all (Cow Flatulence)

Eating less meat could help slow global warming by reducing the number of livestock and thereby decreasing the amount of methane flatulence from the animals, scientists said on Thursday.

In a special energy and health series of the medical journal The Lancet, experts said people should eat fewer steaks and hamburgers. Reducing global red meat consumption by 10 percent, they said, would cut the gases emitted by cows, sheep and goats that contribute to global warming.

I would think just the opposite. I would think that if we ate more cows there would be less cows. What are we going to do when the the cow population starts running amok? I cannot believe this is serious science. I cannot believe that this is serious journalism.

And finally (Cataclysm)

Astronomers have spotted a planet that has survived the massive ballooning of its parent star, providing the first optimistic evidence for the long-term survival of Earth.The discovery, detailed in the Sept. 13 issue of the journal Nature, could motivate other scientists to look for similar red giant survivors.That in turn could eventually lead to an answer to one of astronomers’ favorite questions: Will Earth survive the sun’s swelling when it goes through its own red giant phase in a few billion years?

Well, seriously, in a few billion years? I guess we had better start worrying about this now then, right? I mean, what are our children going to do with this serious condition we have left them in a few billion years? We had better start hoping that we have evolved out of our current state when the sun starts expanding in a few billion years. We better get some scientists on special space ships to fly out to the sun and tell it to give us an extra billion years or so that we can begin building shelters! Or maybe we need to ask the sun, nicely, if it will just not go through a red giant phase in a few billion years.

As they said:

“For sure this discovery will move other people to look for other similar systems, so in a few years we will have much stronger constraints for the models,” Silvotti said. “At that point, it will be possible to do relatively good models for what happens to the planets in general in the red giant phase. So in the end we might know what will happen to Earth.”

Here’s what Peter wrote:

10But the day of the Lord will come like a thief. The heavens will disappear with a roar; the elements will be destroyed by fire, and the earth and everything in it will be laid bare. 11Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be? You ought to live holy and godly lives 12as you look forward to the day of God and speed its coming. That day will bring about the destruction of the heavens by fire, and the elements will melt in the heat. 13But in keeping with his promise we are looking forward to a new heaven and a new earth, the home of righteousness. (2 Peter 3:10-13, NIV)

But there is hope: His Name is Jesus. Instead of worrying about things we cannot change, things we cannot stop, things we cannot in the least bit of a way control, let’s listen to Jesus, the only hope we have here on earth. He is the only Way.

Soli Deo Gloria!

jerry

  1. Joe

    I don’t think anyone is worried about what will happen in a few billion years. I do however believe they are interested in it. I find it fascinating. Though even if the planet survives there is no chance life on it would.

    “I would think just the opposite. I would think that if we ate more cows there would be less cows.”
    You would really think this? Maybe you should think about it again.

    “I cannot believe this is serious science. I cannot believe that this is serious journalism.”
    Why is it not serious journalism? Must you devalue everything you don’t understand at first glance?

  2. Joe,

    Do you have nothing better to do than devalue every single statement I make just because you don’t understand sarcasm, parody, and satire? Are you that dense?

    Joe, how will there be more cows if we keep eating cows? Won’t the very fact of consuming cows, which necessitates killing cows, reduce the overall cow population?

    I appreciate you coming by, but must you disagree with everything? And you think I am conceited? Do you even understand what a ‘billion years’ means? PS-what does fascination have to do with it? Do you think that if you kill a fly today it will impact the world a billion years from now? Wow! Indeed you are powerful as the emperor has forseen!

    jerry

  3. Joe,

    PS–I notice you didn’t smack back on whether or not it was serious science.

    jerry

  4. Joe

    Since no one is worried about what happens billions of years from now, what exactly was the parody?

    “Joe, how will there be more cows if we keep eating cows? Won’t the very fact of consuming cows, which necessitates killing cows, reduce the overall cow population?”
    Is this sarcasm? I can’t tell because you seem to say outrageous statements as if they are not. Cows are a commodity. They are bred by companies to be eaten . If people eat fewer cows companies will breed fewer cows because they will not be able to sell them.

    “I appreciate you coming by, but must you disagree with everything? And you think I am conceited? Do you even understand what a ‘billion years’ means? PS-what does fascination have to do with it? Do you think that if you kill a fly today it will impact the world a billion years from now? Wow! Indeed you are powerful as the emperor has forseen!”
    I tend to disagree with a lot of stuff you say, that’s what keeps me coming around. 🙂 Disagreeing does not make me conceited, or everyone I disagreed with would be just as conceded as I.

    I’m not sure what the rest of that meant. If you can’t find interest in the science I can’t make you see it.

    Oh and green house gases produced by cattle is serious science. They contribute a small but measurable amount.

  5. Joe,

    Cows are animals, not commodities. They are creatures made by God that have value in nature, like polar bears. They contribute to the betterment of humankind by eating grass (so we don’t have to run tractors on fuels that kill the ozone with their exhaust), and their forms make nice house decorations for older folks, plus they provide milk (which humans callously steal).

    I am surprised that someone as astute as you would refer to cows as a mere commodity. That sickens me Joe and you ought to be ashamed of yourself.

    PS–I have three sons. They are flatulent too. I wonder if human flatulence contributes to global warming and whether studies are being done to correct it. Or should we just quit having children?

    jerry

  6. Joe

    Is it not your intent to have a serious conversation?

    Cows were created by man by selectively breeding wild aurochs.

    Cows are a commodity to the cattle industry. I did not describe them as a mere commodity.

    I assume these lines are dripping with sarcasm though, it appears you have no interest in an actual conversation on these issues.

  7. Joe,

    It is my intent to have a serious conversation. Cows have been around a long, long time. I read about them in the Bible. Can you point me to an essay, other than wikipedia, that will teach me the history of the cow? Seriously, wild aurochs? Are you serious or being sarcastic?

    Why would I be posting this stuff if I had no interest in it? You really need to lighten up a bit.

    jerry

  8. Joe

    What you are posting is not serious conversation it is jokes, sarcasm and ridicule.

    Why don’t you Google aurochs? That should be sufficient.

  9. Joe,

    I posted links to legitimate stories that I found on the internet–stories from Nature (a scientific journal), and reported by foxnews.com. I didn’t write the story about cows–a scientist did! I’m not ridiculing anything. I posted links to stories that I found interesting and that I thought others might find interesting. Since I have not stated a motive, I am curious to know how you know what my motive is. (Especially since I stated that it is my ‘intent to have a serious conversation.’

    If you find articles written by respected scientists, and reported by reputable new services to be ‘jokes’, ‘sarcasm’, and ‘ridicule’, then I really can’t help you friend. After all, you are the one who insists that bovine flatulence is ‘serious science’. I’m simply taking your word for it and asking you about it. I also asked if you can really comprehend what a billion years means. And a few other things along the way. Come on, Joe. Give me the benefit of the doubt here. I’ll challenge your answers because they assume evolution and atheism, but I’ll at least read and listen to what you have to say.

    Good night. I hope to see you around tomorrow or the next day.

    as always, I remain your friend,

    jerry

    I even posted a story tonight that I found helpful.




Leave a Reply

