Banning the Dobson Opinion

Friends,

Sometimes I wonder just exactly who speaks for Christians in this country, especially when it comes to so-called Protestants? Here’s a fine example of what I mean: Thompson Brushes off Dobson.

In a private e-mail to supporters this week, Dobson criticized Thompson’s weak stance on the same-sex “marriage” issue. Thompson says he’s in favor of each state deciding their own legal definition of marriage and prohibiting states from imposing their marriage laws on other state.

Fred Thompson responded (at least in part):

“When someone who I never met or never had a conversation with says things, how do I know if I identify with that individual or not, or whether he has any basis for identifying with me?” said Thompson, according to the Dallas Morning News.

“It’s a free country. If this e-mail reflects his views, so be it,” said the presidential contender.

I understand that there are some Christians out there who cannot think for themselves and must rely heavily on the opinion of such folks as James Dobson. Now, I am not anti-Dobson. In his field he does great work, I’m sure. What I wonder, though, is this: Who made him the conscience of evangelical Christians in the US? Who made him theprophet of the age? Since when is Mr. Dobson’s opinion solidly Biblical, exquisitely evangelical, and pristinely trustworthy?

The article states:

Thompson is also criticized for his seeming lack of commitment to Christianity. He said during a recent interview that he does not belong to a church where he lives in Virginia and does not attend church regularly.

And? Is being a Christian a pre-requisite for being president? Does that automatically preclude anyone from being the Commander in Chief? Does being a Christian necessarily mean we’ll get the best man/woman for the job (after all, Bill Clinton claimed to be a Christian too, in fact, a bible waiving, cross carrying Baptist). I’m not saying this for sure, but sometimes I wonder if the Dobsons and Haggards of the world want a Christian president specifically because it is the best thing for the United States or if they want it because it is the best way for them to have some control over policy decisions? Or, as I heard Haggard say one time on television, because he ‘has a line to the White House’?

I’m sure this will offend some Christians out there; so be it. My point is very simply this: A Candidate for the presidency must be judged on his merits as one who can govern effectively and promote justice for all–yes, all citizens of the United States. Now I happen to think that a Christian would make the best candidate for the job. However, I cannot think of too many president who haven’t claimed to be Christians in some sense of the word. Has it made this a better place? (Please don’t misunderstand what I’m saying here.) Perhaps someone who is trying to govern this country will do better than someone who is trying make politics do what the Scripture tells Christians to do.

The overall point of my objection is that James Dobson, for as much good as he does on Family issues, should, in my opinion, stop offering us his opinion on political issues. Just because James Dobson doesn’t support a particular candidate doesn’t mean that candidate is not the best choice nor does it mean the one he does support is the best choice. Don’t we go into a booth and close a curtain for a reason when we vote? Seriously, Dobson I’m sure is a great guy and works for the Kingdom. But I wish he would spare us his political emails. His opinion is not the only, or best, opinion.

So, I agree with Fred Thompson: Brush off Dobson. We should judge the candidates for other reasons besides whether or not James Dobson, who is opposed to nearly all the Republican candidates (except ones who cannot win), approves of them or not.

Soli Deo Gloria!

jerry

  1. I wonder if Dobson ever has an unpublished thought. I know he has a PhD in psychology and people I know who have read some of his earlier books, such as “Dare to Discipline,” say that he knows his stuff. So be it. However, knowing about child-rearing and mental health does not make him an expert on theology or political science.

  2. Odgie,

    I’m glad you get that point as that is what I’m trying to say.

    jerry




Leave a Reply

