Hungry Children & Prosperity Planes

Friends,

The Junior High school where I work 2.5 hours each day is currently doing a fundraiser for hungry children. There is a long colorful chain of paper links hanging in the hallway and in the cafeteria. The sign says, ‘Each link represents 10 children who die each day from hunger.’ Another sign says, ‘15,000 kids die each day from hunger.’ (I actually think they probably die from starvation, but that’s a small thing isn’t it?)

The kids are trying to raise $365.00 in American currency which, according to the colorful poster-board signs hung carefully, conspicuously, and strategically around the lunchroom announce that $365.00 will feed one hungry child for one year. That’s three meals per day, I reckon, at 33.3 cents per meal. The kids at the school where I work buy one lunch for $2.75. So, one lunch would buy, according my calculations, about 8 meals for one of these unidentified starving children who are, according to another sign, getting by eating mud cookies. 

I contrast this with an article I saw at Christian Post about a poor ‘Prosperity preacher‘ who has been, I am sad to report, reduced to such poverty that he is having to sell his ‘private business jet.’ Here’s a blurb:

BROOKLYN PARK, Minn. (AP) — Dwindling donations to the Living Word Christian Center in this Twin Cities suburb have prompted its high-profile pastor, Mac Hammond, to put his private business jet on the market.

Church spokesman the Rev. Brian Sullivan says Living Word has also cut its hourlong Sunday morning television broadcast to 30 minutes to save money.

He says the church has fallen $40,000 to $70,000 short of its weekly budget in recent weeks, and the church is adjusting its budget accordingly.

I don’t want to be mean about this, so here’s what I’m going to suggest. Perhaps the Living Word Christian Center needs our help. Lord knows that I don’t want any preachers, since I am a preacher myself, suffering necessarily or unnecessarily because they are short a mere 40-70K on their budget. I guess the Lord doesn’t want that ministry to be prosperous just now. Thankfully,

Sullivan said the church is aggressively marketing the jet, and the money raised from the sale would be reinvested in the ministry.

I’m going to pray extra hard that this private jet is sold. You know, I was going to buy a lunch at the school tomorrow when I work. The price of an adult lunch is a bit more than the price of a children’s lunch, but the food’s not that bad. Now I’m torn. I don’t know if I should sink that $3.25 into a school lunch for myself, into the big plastic water bottle for the starving children somewhere in the world, or if I should send it to the good Rev Hammond for his ailing ministry. I’m torn.

If you happen to read this, and you happen to have a word from the Lord on this for me, please let me know. This is a difficult decision.

_________________

I hope the jet doesn’t sell. I hope the ‘ministry’ goes belly up. I hope the ‘center’ closes its doors. I hope the ‘Rev’ has to get a real job. And I hope Senator Grassley amps up his investigation. I hope his television program goes off the air completely.

_________________

Someone hacked my blog. Who wrote that? Well, I’m, sorry for the Rev Hammond. I hope things work out for him and his important work in the Lord. Can you believe this poor man actually has to sell his private business jet? What’s worse, is that Jesus had to walk everywhere he went. If only the Son of God had thought to have a private jet and a television show. If only Jesus had been less concerned about children and more concerned about the business of ministry. If only. 

jerry

Lord, forgive me this blasphemy. Forgive me this sarcasm. Forgive me Lord. Have mercy on me, a sinner.

  1. 1 Hungry Children & Prosperity Planes « Sola Dei Gloria

    […] Hungry Children & Prosperity Planes Posted on February 22, 2008 by pjmiller    A big Thumbs Up to Jerry at Life Under the Blue Sky, for his post titled: Hungry Children & Prosperity Planes. […]




Leave a Reply

