Dan Goldfinch: Anti-C*****!

Friends,

“Who is the liar? It is the man who denies that Jesus is the Christ. Such a man is the antichrist–he denies the Father and the Son.”–1 John 2:22 

That’s Right! I have hit the big time. Due to a post I made the other day about Barak Obama’s undeniably pathetic use of Christian Scriptureto justify his position on homosexual, uh, ‘marriages’ or, uh, ‘civil’, uh, ‘unions’, a blogger who blogs at May in the Bay has told the world that I am her ‘personal anti-christ.’ And, are you ready for this, she’s from New York andnot yet 30! Oooooh! Now I am big time! Look out world! 

Anyhow, in a recent post, *this* is why I don’t like church!, she writes,

Christ. Prosletizing, judging, scolding, and hating on the Tila, the gays, and now the President Elect of my heart? Rev. Blue Sky, you may well be my very own personal anti-Christ.

Well, I’m not really sure what this means except that I guess she must be a Christian because if in fact there is an anti-Christ in her life there must also be a Christ in her life. She’s complaining that I don’t like Barak Obama–which I don’t–but that is beside the point of the blog post that I made where she uncovered this startling revelation. To be sure, I was complaining about the pathetic way Mr Obama, a ‘Christian’, used the Christian Scripture, the Sermon on the Mount in particular, to justify his position…well, see above.

Well, I am sorry that Mrs May in the Bay ‘hates church’ because I don’t like the way Mr Obama uses the Scripture that the Church holds dear. But on a brighter note, at least she doesn’t hate Jesus.

Oh, she also doesn’t like the fact that I think Tila Tequila is in need of real help and also a very poor exegete of Scripture. She wrote:

But how can I be charitable towards someone who takes such a unbending position on sexuality? Gay dudes and lesbian ladies are my peeps, yo. And I don’t appreciate people that overproselytize their beliefs. Here’s how religion would be in my ideal world: believe what you want to believe, absolutely sing to the choir, and don’t force your beliefs down anyone else’s throat.

And now, introducing, Mrs May in the Bay: Expositor of Scripture Extraordinaire! I can only imagine that she will be the guest preacher at Joel Osteen’s or Erwin McManus’ ‘church’ sometime soon! Mrs May in the Bay was ordained in the First Church of Do Whatever You Want Because God Doesn’t Really Care and His Word Really Doesn’t Matter.

Stupid hacker. I’m sorry Mrs May in the Bay–I have a hacker problem.

Uh, Mrs May, have you actually seen the real world (try the red pill next time)? You have described exactly how ‘religion’ is in this world. In some cases, that is how Christianity is. But this has nothing to do with the God of Scripture, the Father of the Lord Jesus Christ. People are free to believe what they want. I’m not forcing my beliefs down anyone’s throat (it is a blog you know, and even MS Explorer has an escape feature). As for singing to the choir, I don’t know what that means. So, I’m not certain how the world is not already ideal enough for Mrs May in the Bay. Ironically, Mrs May it is precisely the world you described that causes so many problems for this world.

However, doesn’t this sentence say it all:

Gay dudes and lesbian ladies are my peeps, yo. And I don’t appreciate people that overproselytize their beliefs.

If I am an anti-christ, I cannot begin to imagine what Tila Tequila and Barak Obama are.

Mrs Bay, I do hope, as I hope for all those who visit here, that despite your angst for the church (Ghandi had that same itch) that You find hope and salvation through Jesus Christ. He is gracious and kind and will forgive your sins because He died on the Cross to redeem you from your empty way of life, to bring you into the Kingdom of light. I do hope you find this hope in Christ–despite the best efforts of the church and the ‘anti-christs’ like myself who want nothing more than for you to fall in love with Jesus.

jerry

PS–I want to re-iterate that my problem was not with Mr Obama or Ms Tequila per se. It was with their abuse of Holy Scripture that was of concern to me. I’m just trying to be helpful. If Mr Obama wants to win the votes of Christians like myself, he should stop using Christian Scripture to justify a wholly unjustifiable position (i.e. sin).
  1. Whew! You got some fire to you, Jerry/ Dan Goldfinch! LOL.

    I do sincerely apologize for the snarky sense of humor and the “anti-Christ” comment. You clearly aren’t the anti-Christ, but it was a quick/easy/stupid/snarky joke.

    I’m sorry you think so poorly of me, and I will respond to your comments when I finish thoughtfully weighing and considering what you have written.

    Sincerely,
    May in the Bay

  2. May,

    You totally misunderstand me. I have a new friend now, and I don’t think poorly of you at all. And you need not apologize, I got the humor which is why I played along. Blogging is a game, seriously. I don’t take too much of what I read seriously, and neither should you. I should have attached a ‘satire’ tag.

    your friend,
    jerry

  3. Ok. I thought about what you said, and I thank you for the conversation.

    I responded once to your comment on my blog(http://mayinthe415bay.blogspot.com/2008/03/response-to-life-under-blue-sky-part-i_07.html#c325125715815642026) and once (http://mayinthe415bay.blogspot.com/2008/03/response-to-life-under-blue-sky-part-ii.html#links) to your above entry.

    And I’ll be happy to leave well enough alone after this, although if you have a response I respectfully will read it and think about it.

    Thank you again for the “lively” (at very least!) exchange.

    Mayumi

  4. Jerry / Dan,

    Thank you very much for your responses at my blog. It means a lot to me to be on the same page with others.

    This experience has certainly been thought-provoking and eye-opening, at the very least, so thank you for being part of my trajectory.

    Cheers,
    Mayumi / May in the Bay




Leave a Reply

