A Couple of Thoughts Before I Rest: Obama, Tesh, Darwin, Slice, China, Islam, My Birthday, and Dobson

Friends,

Just a couple of quick-hits tonight.

First, I have a short post at Advance Signs tonight concerning the Church in China.

Second, thank you, today is my birthday. I am now officially 38.

Third, please boycott Slice of Laodicea as now John Tesh is the latest heretic to fall victim to the Sword of Laodicea.

Fourth, why is Barack Obama so afraid of associating with American Muslims? Last week he asked some Muslim women wearing their head-coverings not to appear in a photo. Now, he is distancing himself from another:

As Senator Barack Obama courted voters in Iowa last December, Representative Keith Ellison, the country’s first Muslim congressman, stepped forward eagerly to help.

and…

“This is the ‘hope campaign,’ this is the ‘change campaign,’ ” said Ellison, Democrat of Minnesota. Muslims are frustrated, he added, that “they have not been fully engaged in it.”

and…

“The community feels betrayed,” said Safiya Ghori, the government relations director in the Washington office of the Muslim Public Affairs Council.

And you know what happened? The good senator, presidential candidate, rejected his help. I just don’t get that at all. I am confused. According to the article, the Senator has visited churches and synagogues, but he has not visited a mosque. I think this should change. The Senator will (if elected) represent ALL Americans, not just the Christians ones or Jewish ones. He will also represent the Hindu ones, the Atheist ones, the Buddhist ones, etc. I think the Senator should visit a Mosque and deliver a sermon speech.

Fifth, and finally, James Dobson is apparently involved in a war of words with Senator Obama:

As Barack Obama broadens his outreach to evangelical voters, one of the movement’s biggest names, James Dobson, accuses the likely Democratic presidential nominee of distorting the Bible and pushing a “fruitcake interpretation” of the Constitution.

Well, that seems about right. I have reviewed some of the Senator’s citations of Scripture and I agree that he has a tendency to distort absolutely obliterate the Scripture with his usage. I don’t know too much about his interpretation of the Constitution; although, I have heard that he is quite liberal. I don’t know if liberals can interpret the Constitution properly or not.

However…

“Folks haven’t been reading their Bibles,” Obama said.

Well, this is the first thing the Senator has said since the joke of a presidential race (on both sides) started the day after George W Bush’s second term began.

However…

Dobson and Minnery accused Obama of wrongly equating Old Testament texts and dietary codes that no longer apply to Jesus’ teachings in the New Testament.

“I think he’s deliberately distorting the traditional understanding of the Bible to fit his own worldview, his own confused theology,” Dobson said.

“… He is dragging biblical understanding through the gutter.”

Dragging he may be, but I’ll say this: He is evidently reading it. Ironically, there are many preachers who stand up on Sunday mornings and do little else but ‘drag biblical understanding through the gutter.’ The Senator is a politician so we cannot expect him to be fully verse in all such matters of theology. But at least he, or at least a speech writer, is reading it.

However…

“Even if we did have only Christians in our midst, if we expelled every non-Christian from the United States of America, whose Christianity would we teach in the schools?” Obama said. “Would we go with James Dobson’s or Al Sharpton’s?” referring to the civil rights leader.

I vote for neither. I think we should go with the Christianity of Jesus.

It amazes me that in this culture, so in tune with unrighteousness and and ungodliness as it is, presidential candidates are still judged by Christians by the amount of Scripture they quote in stump speeches, and by how well they do or do not understand it.

I love irony.

Oh, one last thing. I read this today: “Charles Darwin even said that any truly other-directed trait would negate the theory of evolution. Natural selection cannot produce it.” If you happen to be one of my Atheist, Darwinist, Evolutionary, God of the gaps, or Theistic Evolution friends, could you please tell me if this is true or not? I do not have time to peruse Mr Darwin’s work and I am curious. Is this why some Darwinists are always so quick to jump on the altruism bandwagon? I am asking a serious question here; I’m not being sarcastic or mocking at all.

Thanks.

jerry

  1. pjmiller

    A belated Happy B’ Day brother Jerry! Its 12:11 so i missed it by 11 minutes. lol
    …………………….

    Fourth, why is Barack Obama so afraid of associating with American Muslims?
    …………………………..

    From reading all the articles/posts on boards and blogs, it could be he is distancing himself because of the accusations of being a closet Muslim. you think?

    God bless…hope you had a nice Birthday…

    pj

  2. PJ–

    Thanks for the b-day wishes.

    I agree with your assessment of Senator Obama. I think that is exactly why he is avoiding all contact. However, I think it only makes him look worse in the matter.

    But the president must not be afraid of knowing all people. He will represent them as their American president. Obama has shown himself to be a ‘Christian’ by 20 years of membership in a specific local church. Then again, I’m not so much worried about his religious preference as I am his political liberalism.

    What I wonder is how can a Christian be so profoundly, proudly liberal at every turn? That’s what frightens me.

    Thanks for stopping by. I always appreciate the feedback.

    jerry

  3. {…}
    America’s Revolution!,
    “Does Islam encourage terrorism?”,
    Letters to Imam Khomeini by non-muslims,
    download “beyond Fitna” and some other clips in
    http://www.thepureislam.wordpress.com
    {…}

  4. sethandray

    About Sen. Obama and Muslims… he’s a politician. He knows that. He’s very smart, and a different kind of politician (maybe) but a politician nonetheless.

    Dr. Dobson should know better, as a man of God, to engage Sen. Obama in political dialogue while criticising him for not adhering to his religious beliefs. It’s always dangerous when religious figures get involved in politica scrapping, and should be generally avoided.

  5. Seth,

    Dobson irritates me for that very reason. What I recently learned is this, tell me what you think: There are too many Christians who think that in order to advance the Kingdom of God we have to advance the kingdom of America. I don’t see it that way any longer. America’s agenda, however politically prudent it may or may not be, is not necessarily, or in any way, God’s agenda. Perhaps this is why I am slowly changing my view on the nature of war. I wish Dobson would focus on the family, and leave his political points of view to himself. He does a good work, but a politician he is not.

    As for Obama–well, you said it yourself: He’s a politician nontheless.

    Thanks for stopping by.
    jerry




Leave a Reply

