Friends,

Today the author of Slice of Laodicea is lamenting things that are now, in her words, ‘optional’ in the church. She wrote:

This is an apt description of evangelicals as well who now increasingly view cardinal doctrines like the deity of Christ, a literal hell, the substitutionary atonement and the Second Coming as optional.

I agree with her assessment, but I’d like to add a few things into that:

  1. Civility (in the sense that we treat one another with respect)
  2. Charity (in the sense of treating one another with respect)
  3. Grace
  4. Mercy
  5. Grace
  6. Love (in the sense of loving even those with whom we disagree)
  7. Joy (in the sense that some bloggers have no sense of it at all)
  8. Grace (in the sense that it not only justifies us by also sanctifies us)
  9. Latitude (in the sense that most of us are not yet perfect)
  10. Grace (in the sense that it is sufficient also for people not named ‘Ingrid’ or ‘Ken’ or ‘Pastorboy’)
  11. Humility (in the sense that ‘I’ might be wrong about a great many things)
  12. Laughter (self explanatory)
  13. Grace
  14. Love
  15. Patience (in the sense that we give people time to ‘grow up’ or ‘mature’ in their faith)
  16. Kindness
  17. Gentless
  18. Self-control (in the sense that we don’t assume we are the judge, jury, and executioner)
  19. Peace (in the sense that there are far too many ‘wars’ being fought on the internet world of blogdom over who is right, who is and is not going to hell, and who ‘is head of the church’)
  20. Goodness
  21. Faithfulness (in the sense that we understand who is the real enemy of the church; hint: it’s not other believers in and followers of Jesus)
  22. Justice (in the sense of Micah, Isaiah, etc.)

Well, this is just off the top of my head. Surely I have missed something. God and learn what it means, “I desire mercy.”

“Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You give a tenth of your spices—mint, dill and cummin. But you have neglected the more important matters of the law—justice, mercy and faithfulness. You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former. (Matthew 23:20)

And:

But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

I agree. Some bloggers, many Christians, need to learn this. As per my promise, I prayed for the author of Slice of Laodicea this morning.

Soli Deo Gloria!

  1. sethandray

    Great post, I don’t know how I got here but I’m going to continue to explore your blog.

    Seth

  2. Seth,

    Thanks for stopping by, I always appreciate new readers and I also appreciate that you took time to reply.

    The only thing I would caution you on as you ‘explore’ my blog is this: My point of view on a number of issues has radically changed since I started this blog back in March of 2007. Since I began the blog, I have learned about the nature of God’s grace. Thus, many of the things I said early on were, and are, in direct contradiction to even this post you commented on.

    I have left the older posts only that I might engage conversations with people and demonstrate the changes that Christ has made in my life; that is, to demonstrate my growth in God’s grace. I hope that makes sense.

    jerry




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

