Sermon Bonfire!

Friends,

About 4 years ago, my perspective on preaching and faith and Christianity underwent a radical change. It has been a strange journey, but it has been rewarding. My reading priorities changed, my sermon writing changed, my sermon preaching changed. In fact, I should give thanks to The Purpose Driven Life because if I hadn’t read that book I might have continued down the path I was going and never realized how pathetic my preaching really was. This does not mean that I started preaching PDL–on the contrary. We did the 40 Days campaign at my church and when it was done I felt absolutely devoid of meaning. I preached 7 or 8 of the most dreadful sermons I ever preached during the course of the campaign. This doesn’t mean that everyone has this experience. It means I did. In other words, PDL did nothing for me spiritually or intellectually. However, another book, Christ Plays in Ten Thousand Places, did wonders for my faith in God’s Word to do its job and renewed my zeal to preach the whole counsel of the Word of God.

I have been preaching since 1992. For a good part of that time, 1995-2002, I preached at least two sermons per week. Still, I have no real I idea of how many sermons I have preached. Anyhow, recently I hosted a small get together at my house for the members of my congregation. Several attended and we joined together in the burning of 8 years worth of sermon manuscripts (I decided for now to keep the last 4 years or so worthy of material). I cannot tell you how liberating it was watching all that go up in flames and smoke. It was exhilarating to sit around the fire and be coated with the ashes of all those sermons. That night marked yet another milestone and once again renewed my sense of zeal for the Word of God. What it means, in short, is that I am starting all over again. The next step is to go through all of my file folders and eliminate an accumulation of many years worth of exegesis, illustrative material, and other stuff I have been saving.

Below then are several pictures from that night.

Well, I’m looking forward to what the Lord has in store and I am anxious to start learning all over again. I suspect that as time goes on, and as soon as is possible, changes will be happening to my blog as well. Thanks for stopping by.

jerry

    Leave a Reply

