Yet Another Reason not to Vote in 2008

Friends,

My previous entry gave several reasons why I am not voting for either presidential candidate in the upcoming elections. I stand by my decision. Now I have yet another reason not to vote: Leo says I should.

Film stars including Forest Whitaker, Leonardo DiCaprio and Dustin Hoffman joined forces with Google on Wednesday in a campaign to get US citizens to vote in the coming presidential election.The celebrities make rapid-fire appearances in a “5 Friends” YouTube video that warns people their rights and futures are at stake and implores them to wield power over the outcome by voting.

In keeping with the video title, the movie stars urge people to send “5 Friends” so it spreads, as one actress comically put it, “rampant like herpes but for a positive.”

“If you’re not going to vote I don’t even know what to say to you anymore,” DiCaprio says after the video turns serious. “You know you have to vote.”

There you go. I refuse to anything that someone tells me to do especially when that someone is a nut-job like Leonardo DiCaprio. If voting is so imperative that someone like Leo needs to go stumping for it, then it must not be all that imperative after all. I love all these Hollywood people telling me what I am to think, how I am supposed to be concerned about the world.

The video they produced is a profanity laced, vulgar piece of nonsense from the likes of Rainman, Spiderman, Kelso, Monica, Leo,–who used to roll with Kirk Cameron in Growing Pains–and other, lesser known celebs. Oh, Hollywood says we should vote, so we really should vote. The world will end tomorrow if we don’t vote.

In related news, Hollywood is thinking about going on strike again.

If the members of Hollywood are saying that voting in 2008 is something I must do then I absolutely refuse to listen to them or obey them. Blah. Blah. Blah.

Right. Whatever.

  1. Yvonne

    This is the most irresponsible thing I have seen a pastor say in a long time including the likes of Joel Osteen and Kerry Shook. You should be ashamed. There are alternatives to the two major parties. Not voting is not Christian.

  2. Yvonne,

    I’m glad you have an opinion, but I hate to tell you that it is the wrong opinion. First of all, I don’t have to listen to the likes of Hollywood boobs who think they are smarter than the average human. Second of all, I do not recall a single verse of Scripture that says: In order to be a Christian you must vote. However, if you feel confident enough that such a verse exists, and you can point it out to me, I’ll happily retract my statements.

    Thanks for stopping by.
    jerry

  3. Randy

    Not voting is not Christian? I must say that concept is ludicrous. How is it unchristian to refrain from being separate from the world when that is exactly what God commands? Christianity and politics are not intrinsically tied together. In fact, to vote against your conscience is opposed to the Holy Spirit’s influence and to your allegiance to Christ.

    “Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you.” (2 Corinthians 6:17)




Leave a Reply

