Book Review: The Martian

The_Martian_2014This will not be a normal review full of all sorts of technical considerations and the like. I simply wanted to take a few minutes of space (haha) to note that a) I read this book and b) I enjoyed it immensely. I enjoy the science fiction genre, but I confess it's been a while since I have read science fiction. I think the last time I did was when I read C.S. Lewis' Space Trilogy a seriously long while back.

Then one day I was watching something, maybe a ball game, and I saw an advertisement for a movie coming out soon called The Martian staring Matt Damon. Well, I like Matt Damon's overall body of work and I saw Ridley Scott had something to do with it and I noted that I would definitely be seeing the movie. A few days later, I was scrolling through my Twitter feed and this book showed up as a Kindle deal. Since I'm cheap like that, I had no problem dishing out the $2.00 or $3.00 for the Kindle version of the book. And then I started reading.

And I loved it. Love. Love. Loved it. It was a thoroughly enjoyable book. I thought it was a bit over the top when it came to the language (there were a lot of f-bombs, and it was vulgar at times) but I was able to overcome those issues and enjoy a story. Kind of reminded me a lot of the movie Castaway, but only in theme. Obviously life on Mars is a wee bit different than life on an island on earth. The science behind the book was a lot of fun to navigate. I was able to understand most of it, but there were times when I felt it wasn't necessary to understand everything that was going on scientifically in order to appreciate the story itself.

The story has a nice flow to it even if the ending seem to be a wee bit predictable. I mean, he had a 50-50 chance, but since I was reading the story I wasn't too worried about the main character not surviving.

Obviously I am a bit late to the game on this book hence the short review. Nevertheless, I wanted those who do read this to know that I thought it was a great story and worth the read.

    Leave a Reply

